Abandon Normal Devices

Abandon Normal Devices (AND) is a festival of new cinema, digital culture and art. The festival takes place annually in Liverpool and Manchester on alternate years – this year it was in Liverpool.

As I was in the city just for a day, I had to miss most of the screenings and other events as they would have been taking too much of my time as I also wanted to have time to visit Tate Liverpool and Open Eye Gallery at the docks but I thoroughly enjoyed Abandon Normal Devices Fair.

My five highlights from the fair

Lighthammer / Andrew Goodman
This involved making a photograph by hitting flowers on a perspex box set above a camera with a hammer. But it wasn’t just a normal hammer. This hammer generated different colour lights (you could pick the colour) when you hit the surface, and therefore shining light on the flowers (or what was left of them in the end) and also exposing the photo. Oh, I forgot to mention that you did all this in a small dark room. Great fun.

SEFT-1 / Los Ferronautas
SEFT-1 is a road and rail vehicle created by Mexican artists, and brothers. Apparently there are a lot of disused railway lines in Mexico. Cant think of more interesting way to travel.

Accept Cookies / Ben Dalton
I accepted the cookie that was baked in the oven and iced with the pattern created by using the tracking cookie of my phone. It was a little bit burn, but very tasty. I wish getting rid of all cookies on your laptop were as easy (&tasty) as that.

De-Exinction Deli / Centre for Genomic Gastronomy
“A future food market stand, serving up debate on the growing movement to bring back extinct species” Should extinct species be brought back? If we managed to brought some back, would you eat them?

Otoko / Dentaku
Otoko is an experimental printed circuit board with sensors and touchpads. Add saucepans and you can have hours of fun making noises. (I’m sure it’s all much more technical than that but it was fun. I had to force myself to leave so that didn’t extend my welcome – and let others play too).

I took two cards from Fate and Fortune box.

“AND SEATING MYSELF BY THE FIRE WHICH MY ODIOUS
COMPANION HAD LIGHTED, HE THUS BEGAN HIS TALE. ”

“HE WAS SOON BORNE AWAY BY THE WAVES,
AND LOST IN DARKNESS AND DISTANCE.”

Leave a Reply

