Edinburgh

I had a lovely art filled day in Edinburgh today. Here’s the first set of photos showing more general sights. I had pretty amazing, and also massive slice of cherry bakewell cake and hot chocolate in rather groovy place called Brew Lab. I’d highly recommend it. I wish I could have seen Robert Montgomery’s Fire Poem on the opening night of Edinburgh Art Festival, burning in the darkness.

Edinburgh Fire Poem, Robert Montgomery

Edinburgh_HeidiKuisma-31

“RATHER THE RAIN ON THE WINDOW
OF THE CASTLE THAN THE CASTLE
ITSELF, RATHER THE FLIGHT OF
THE BIRD, RATHER BURNED
THAN CAPTURED”

73 comments

  1. My dad had the good fortune of being stationed in Edinburgh while working in military intelligence during the Vietnam war. (It was a good place to listen in on the U.S.S.R.) He still talks about it as if it were the best year of his life, despite “nearly going to war with the IRA” on one occasion. Should I ever have the money to visit Europe, Edinburgh will be on my list. Even better if I also find a job that will take me there for free!

    Like

  2. I love your patterns row. Nice photos. Reminded me of my own photos from my trip to Edinburgh 2 years ago.

    As for video in the end, I stayed with my mouth open by the time the poem was set on fire. Excellent idea.

    Like

  3. treiter89

    Gorgeous photography. I like how you cover many different kind of objects and colours. Fascinating, makes me want to visit Edinburgh.

    Like

    • Thanks Kaycee! Many of the older buildings in Edinburgh (and also in Glasgow where I live) still have those pretty tiles. Sadly they are slowly disappearing.

      Like

  4. I have recently visited Edinburgh for the first time (along with other cities and towns throughout Scotland) and your images capture so much of what most travellers miss when travelling: the soul of a place. Thank you.

    Like

  5. Really cool photos. I liked your blog a lot. And Brew Lab is my favourite coffee shop of all time. I am a professional independent musician and am based in Edinburgh, so it is nice to see it from another perspective, (as I am spending most of my time in the studio at the moment). If you are interested in what I am doing, you can check it out, here:
    http://jamesradcliffe.com/
    I look forward to your next set.

    Like

  6. writingsprint

    Reblogged this on The Daily 400 and commented:
    I came across this while doing a batch of mass printing at home. (Don’t ask.) I spent a weekend in Edinburgh back in college. It was a great experience in resourcefulness — the hostel that said they had plenty of beds became booked solid by the time I got there — history, music, whiskey, beer, and fine Scottish cuisine. Sesame crusted salmon, YUM! My favorite photo is the one that says, “Please mass debate here.”

    Like

Leave a Reply

